Prime quality awards
Home 9 About Prime 9 Award-Winning Care

Every award tells a story of a life touched by Prime Healthcare

Prime Healthcare continues an unwavering dedication to providing compassionate, quality care, building value, preserving access, improving health outcomes, and decreasing costs. It is this commitment that allows Prime Healthcare to consistently be nationally ranked among the best hospitals in the nation.

Ranked a Top Health System by Fortune/IBM Watson Health

  • Prime Healthcare has been recognized as a 10 Top and 15 Top Health System three times
  • Prime Healthcare was the only health system west of the Mississippi to receive 10 Top Health System recognition in the nation

Named Among the Nation’s “100 Top Hospitals” by Fortune/PINC AI

  • Prime Healthcare hospitals have ranked among the nation’s “100 Top Hospitals” 69 times
  • In 2024, one Prime Healthcare hospital was named to the “100 Top Hospitals” list

    1. East Liverpool City Hospital – East Liverpool, OH

Clinical Excellence by Healthgrades

  • Prime Healthcare hospitals recognized with more than 200 achievements for clinical excellence in various specialties for the 2024 award season:
    • America’s 100 Best by Speciality – 8
    • Specialty Excellence Awards – 47
    • Five-star achievements – 152
  • Prime Healthcare has received the Patient Safety Excellence Award eight years in a row (2016-2023), while receiving 21 new Patient Safety Excellence Awards for the 2024 award season
  • Prime Healthcare leads the state of California with nine hospitals as Patient Safety Excellence Award recipients and is the second most-awarded health system in the U.S. for 2024
2024 healthgrades ps 1

Prime Healthcare is Among the Most Socially Responsible Health Systems

Lown Badge v23 24 Prime Healthcare

The Lown Institute Hospitals Index is the first ranking system to define standards for hospital social responsibility by examining performance across health outcomes, value, and equity. In July 2023, Prime Healthcare and its hospitals earned the distinction of “most socially responsible” by the Lown Institute. Prime Healthcare was recognized as a Top 10 Health System in the Nation for Social Responsibility and received an ‘A’ grade for Social Responsibility, ‘A’ grade for Health Equity, ‘A’ grade for Patient Outcomes, ‘A’ grade for Clinical Outcomes, and ‘A’ grade for Inclusivity.

Twenty-five Prime Healthcare hospitals spanning 14 states have been recognized for outstanding social responsibility, receiving an “A” grade on the 2023-24 Lown Institute Hospitals Index. Four Prime Healthcare hospitals made this year’s Honor Roll, earning straight “A” grades across Social Responsibility, Health Equity, Value of Care, and Patient Outcomes.

Patient Safety Excellence by The Leapfrog Group

licensure logo horz green Spring 2024 flag ai JPEG CMYKTwenty-seven Prime Healthcare hospitals achieved “A” Hospital Safety Grades for the Spring 2024 period, a designation widely acknowledged as one of the most competitive honors American hospitals can receive for patient safety and quality. The awardees are:


  1. Centinela Hospital Medical Center – Inglewood, CA
  2. Coshocton Regional Medical Center – Coshocton, OH
  3. Dallas Medical Center – Dallas, TX
  4. East Liverpool City Hospital – East Liverpool, OH
  5. Garden City Hospital – Garden City, MI
  6. Harlingen Medical Center – Harlingen, TX
  7. Knapp Medical Center – Weslaco, TX
  8. La Palma Intercommunity Hospital – La Palma, CA
  9. Lake Huron Medical Center – Port Huron, MI
  10. Landmark Medical Center – Woonsocket, RI
  11. Lehigh Regional Medical Center – Lehigh Acres, FL
  12. Lower Bucks Hospital – Bristol, PA
  13. Mission Regional Medical Center – Mission, TX
  14. Monroe Hospital – Bloomington, IN
  15. Montclair Hospital Medical Center – Montclair, CA
  16. Paradise Valley Hospital – National City, CA
  17. Providence Medical Center – Kansas City, KS
  18. Riverview Regional Medical Center – Gadsden, AL
  19. Roxborough Memorial Hospital – Philadelphia, PA
  20. Saint Clare’s Dover Hospital – Dover, NJ
  21. Saint Michael’s Medical Center – Newark, NJ
  22. Shasta Regional Medical Center – Redding, CA
  23. St. Joseph Medical Center – Kansas City, MO
  24. St. Mary’s General Hospital – Passaic, NJ
  25. St. Mary’s Medical Center – Blue Springs, MO
  26. Suburban Community Hospital – Norristown, PA
  27. West Anaheim Medical Center – Anaheim, CA


    John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award

    Prime Healthcare was recognized with the prestigious 2021 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award in the “National Level Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality” category

    • Prime Healthcare was the only health system in the nation to receive national-level recognition
    • Prime Healthcare was recognized for its cohesive program and groundbreaking initiatives in social determinants of health (SDoH) that are consistent with the aims of the National Quality Strategy: better care, healthy people and communities, and smarter spending
    Truven_15TOP-2013_Color Corrected
    licensure logo horz green Spring 2024 flag ai JPEG CMYK
    PSAFE e1711404175181